Being an Artist in a Nonsensical World

There are pros and cons to living in a world that seemingly is delving further and further into utter chaos. Cons? Chaos. Anxiety. Fear. Oppression. Violence. Death.  Pros? The need to DO something, grows.

Over the last week I have filled a third of my current sketchbook. And it’s not a small sketchbook. It’s a pretty decent thickness (not to be confused with thicc) but still, I’ve done about one third of it. And today, when the chaos had crawled into my mind, the only thing I wanted to do (after about 3 hours of being completely lost in my own head) was to paint.

And I think that’s pretty cool. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I hate the chaos. I hate all the bad shit that is happening everywhere (Seriously people, just be considerate of each other. Is that so hard?)

But the more chaos I am met with, the more art I produce, and I know I’m not alone in this. A lot of people use creativity to deal with reality, to escape from it, or to try to make a difference through your expressions, to help people and show how fucked up some things are. And when the chaos is great, so is the inspiration to do. To act.

So while the negative shit right now is overwhelming and horrid, it is at least, inspiring positive action in some way, artistic or not.

I’m gonna get back to painting.

Keep each other safe y’all.

 

 

Currently listening to this as I write and proceed to paint. 

Leave a Reply

