2016 Is Almost Over – Rambling

It is the 31st of December 2016 and that means that this year is beginning to come to a close.

I don’t know how to describe this year. On a personal level, many great things happened:
I graduated from University. I got to go new places with people that I care about. I got to spend time with family and friends, try new things as well as create.

But it’s also the year where I have been the most involved with politics. It’s the year where I have cried the most over things happening in the world and felt an intense sense of anger and hopelessness. So many horrible things happened this year which touched me deeply and I found myself becoming more cynical and afraid to hope for better times- I mean, it’s hard to hope when you see all this anger, hatred and fear that exists in society.
I’ve mourned so many people I never knew personally and I doubt I will ever be able to watch the music video to Sia’s “The Greatest” without crying.

Still, this year has given us moments where people really came together. My friend, her father, and I, went to a vigil held for the Pulse Nightclub Shootings and I was so happy to see many people there. I saw (via the internet) the vigil held in London and I was so touched. The fight for noDAPL was inspiring (though frustrating, as most fights for things are!), and everyone I have seen on Twitter, Tumblr, and in real life who continue to fight for the good in the world, give me a glimmer of hope.

I just hope that in 2017, there will be a little less cruelty and violence and less reason to live in fear. It’s unlikely, but..Yeah.

Be kind to one another out there and don’t stop fighting to protect everything that’s good. I know I wont.

PS. Don’t forget to stay safe tonight and keep your pets indoors! Fireworks are scary and dangerous and you know… Be safe.

PSS.
The aforementioned video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GKSRyLdjsPA&ab_channel=SiaVEVO

 

Leave a Reply

